1 800 222 6872

Bruckner: The Complete Symphonies nos 1-9 / Leipzig Gewandhaus Orch.; Herbert Blomstedt

Notes & Reviews:

This complete Bruckner cycle with Herbert Blomstedt and the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra contains some versions that are rarely heard today - for example, the first version of Symphony No. 2 from 1872 edited by William Carragan not before 2005, and the first version of Symphony No. 3 from 1873, which contains numerous Wagner quotes erased in the later versions.

The Fanfare
The completion of Blomstedt's Bruckner cycle coincided with the conductor's 85th birthday, and here he is bestowing a gift on us. This is a fine performance ... the Gewandhaus Orchestra plays magnificently for him, with lustrous strings and ravishing brass.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased