1 800 222 6872

Ginastera: String Quartet no 1 (1948); Dvorak: "American" Quartet; Shostakovich: Quartet no 8 / Simon Bolivar String Quartet

Album Summary

>Ginastera, Alberto : Quartet for Strings no 1, Op. 20
>Dvorak, Antonin : Quartet for Strings no 12 in F major, Op. 96/B 179 "American"
>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Quartet for Strings no 8 in C minor, Op. 110
Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Violinists Alejandro Carreño and Boris Suarez, violist Ismel Campos and cellist Aimon Mata breathe new life into three gems of the string quartet repertoire, performed with the perfect balance of classical refinement and South American panache.

A debut recording that musically and thematically reflects the young ensemble's extraordinary story and progressive pursuits.

This is DG's first recording of Argentine composer Alberto Ginastera's particularly difficult 1948 String Quartet no. 1, inspired by the vivacious dance rhythms of his homeland.

Shostakovich's deeply personal String Quartet no. 8 is dedicated "to the victims of fascism and war," a theme which particularly speaks to the SBSQ.

In another DG first, the SBSQ adds South American flavor to the "American" String Quartet, one of Dvorak's celebration of his visit to the New World.

The SBSQ comprises key players of DG exclusive recording artist Gustavo Dudamel's Simon Bolivar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela.

Music must be made with passion, love and all your heart.

BBC Music Magazine, July 2013
Not surprisingly, the players fully empathise with [the Ginastera's] vibrant Latin American rhythms, masterly contrasts in texture and arresting colours...The SBSQ are equally capable of producing wonderfully atmospheric playing as is evident in their poetic and sensitive approach to the slow movement.

Gramophone Magazine, May 2013
Though the players sometimes make expressive points through the quality of their sound, prettiness is not their priority...SBSQ is more interested in the music's inner workings behind the sound, and with Ginastera, there's much of that to be heard...The Dvorak has a big-boned swagger that suits the music's Americana vigour, though nostalgic reflection almost goes missing.

International Record Review, May 2013
[The Dvorak demonstrates] slick ensemble work, a good level of technical ability - and the performance has some nice moments of colour and tone...Shostakovich's Eight Quartet receives a much better performance. Individual playing is more compelling and the music is pushed to expressive extremes without becoming overbearing.

MusicWeb International, 2nd July 2013
It's a little rough, but overall pretty good...All in all, this is a promising start to a string quartet's career. I look forward to hearing more from them.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Centro de Acción Social por la Música, Sala Simón Bolív (02/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Ginastera, Alberto : Quartet for Strings no 1, Op. 20
  • Ensemble: Simon Bolivar String Quartet
  • Running Time: 20 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1948

>Antonin Dvorák (1841 - 1904) : Quartet for Strings no 12 in F major, Op. 96/B 179 "American"
  • Notes: Composition written: 1893.
  • Running Time: 26 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1893

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Quartet for Strings no 8 in C minor, Op. 110
  • Notes: Composition written: 1960.
  • Running Time: 20 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1960