1 800 222 6872

Janacek: Glagolitic Mass; Sinfonietta / Felicity Palmer; Ameral Gunson; John Mitchinson; Malcolm King; Jane Parker-Smith. Simon Rattle

Album Summary

>Janácek, Leos : Sinfonietta
>Janácek, Leos : Glagolitic Mass
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

EMI Classics relaunches the popular EMI Master Series: The definitive series of great classical music from a trove of the most notable and revered classical recordings ever made. Available on CD and for digital download, this newly repackaged installment of 10 master celebrates EMI Classics' greatest artists, including Maria Callas, Nigel Kennedy and Itzhak Perlman. All performances in this series were recorded, mastered, or a re-mastered at the internationally renowned Abbey Road Studios in London.

The performance itself is of the highest quality. The orchestral playing is sensitive and responsive throughout with a beautifully blended and homogeneous tonal balance. The playing is cultured but Simon Rattle also brings an awareness of the pantheistic fervor that inspires Janacek's wonderful score.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Leos Janácek (Composer) (1854 - 1928) : Sinfonietta
  • Conductor: Simon Rattle
  • Ensemble: City of Birmingham Chorus
  • Notes: Kingsway Hall, London (11/17/1982-11/18/1982)
  • Running Time: 22 min. 31 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1926

>Leos Janácek (Composer) (1854 - 1928) : Glagolitic Mass
  • Performers: Ameral Gunson (Mezzo Soprano); Ameral Gunson (Mezzo Soprano); Malcolm King (Bass); Malcolm King (Bass); John Mitchinson (Tenor); John Mitchinson (Tenor); Felicity Palmer (Soprano); Felicity Palmer (Soprano); Jane Parker-Smith (Organ); Jane Parker-Smith (Organ)
  • Conductor: Simon Rattle
  • Notes: The Great Hall, Birmingham University (01/09/1981-01/10/1981)
  • Running Time: 38 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1926-1927