1 800 222 6872

Bernt Rosengren Big Band/Bernt Rosengren (Sax): Big Band with Horace Parlan & Doug Raney [Digipak]

Track List

>Hip Walk
>New Life
>How Deep Is the Ocean?
>Joe and Eye
>Humming Bees, The
>Autumn Song
>Sad Waltz
>Blues Nerves

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Expedition Audio Recommended
A hallmark of great big bands is the interaction between a creative soloist and a tight ensemble, and all seven Rosengren originals on the album, plus fantastic arrangements of Irving Berlin's "How Deep is the Ocean?" and John Coltrane's "Naima", shine with just such stellar musicality... ... read more ...

Rosengren, is one of Sweden's most internationally renowned jazz artists. Since making his name at age 19, he has been a standard-bearer of Swedish jazz for over 50 years, inspiring and accompanying many generations of musicians. Featured in the 19-man band are virtually the entire jazz elite from 1970's and 80's, including Parlan and Raney.

Audiophile Audition
The standard of writing and playing is reliably adventurous, and the three key soloists (Parlan/Raney/Rosengren) deliver the goods with style and verve. The only other soloist of note is trumpeter Lars FSrnl÷f who soars over the band on "New Life". As for the two previously mentioned works, "Ocean" has some fine crisp Parlan piano, both as part of the band and with only the rhythm section, and then the Coltrane oeuvre which gives Rosengren a chance to show off his expressive improvisational style. The album opener "Hip Walk" takes advantage of the dexterous guitar-work of Doug Raney.

Album Notes

Personnel: Bernt Rosengren (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Doug Raney (guitar); Lennart Åberg, Peter Gullin (alto saxophone); Tommy Koverhult, Stefan Isaksson (tenor saxophone); Gunnar Bergsten (baritone saxophone); Maffy Falay, Bertil Lövgren, Lars Färnlöf, Tim Hagans (trumpet); Håken Nyquist (French horn); Lars Olofsson, Stanislav Cieslak, Nils Landgren (trombone); Sven Larsson (bass trombone); Horace Parlan (piano); Leif Wennerström (drums).

Audio Mixer: Rune Persson.

Liner Note Author: Lars Westin.

Recording information: Metronome Studio, Stockholm (05/13/1980/05/14/1980).

Photographer: Håkan Elofsson.

Arranger: Bernt Rosengren .


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased