1 800 222 6872

The McCoy Tyner Trio: Bon Voyage

Track List

>Bon Voyage
>Don't Blame Me
>You Stepped Out of a Dream
>Jazz Walk
>How Deep is the Ocean
>Blues for Max

Album Notes

Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Louis Hayes (drums).

Audio Remasterer: Peter Brussee.

Recording information: Studio 44, Monster, Holland (06/09/1987).

Photographer: Jan Persson.

Not one of McCoy Tyner's better known CDs, this trio session is nevertheless one worth acquiring. The thunderous title track is not even hampered much by Avery Sharpe's switch to electric bass, though the bassist is far superior on "Summertime" where he can show off his bowing skills in a waltz setting. Tyner is at his lyrical best on "Don't Blame Me," accompanied by Hayes' soft brushwork; though his formidable technique is incredible on his solo performance of "Yesterdays," foreshadowing his brilliant solo CDs that he would record for Blue Note in the immediate future. Although six of the eight tracks are labeled out of order, this release is definitely one worth picking up. ~ Ken Dryden


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product