1 800 222 6872

Benny Green (Piano): Magic Beans [Digipak]

Track List

>Benny's Crib
>Kenny Drew
>Flying Saucer
>Jackie McLean
>Harold Land
>Magic Beans
>Portuguesa, La
>Further Away

Album Notes

Personnel: Benny Green (piano); Kenny Washington (drums).

Audio Mixers: Jim Czak; Bill Moss ; Kenny Washington; Benny Green .

Liner Note Author: Benny Green .

Recording information: Nola Studios, New York, New York (04/23/2012-04/24/2012).

Photographers: Elde Stewart; Benny Green .

Arranger: Benny Green .

Pianist Benny Green delivers his first album of all-original material with 2013's Magic Beans. Joining Green here is the superb rhythm section of bassist Peter Washington and drummer Kenny Washington. Green has long evinced the influence of such jazz giants as Thelonious Monk and Bud Powell, and Magic Beans is no exception, with cuts like "Flying Saucer" and "Paraphrase" bringing to mind the angular bop lines of those artists. Similarly, as directly stated in the song titles, "Harold Land," "Kenny Drew," and "Jackie McLean" are also clearly on Green's mind, with the aforementioned tracks truly conjuring their titles' inspirations. Elsewhere, Green reveals an introspective, atmospheric side with the lyrical ballads "Vanished" and "La Portuguesa." Ultimately, Magic Beans is an urbane and swinging mix of straight-ahead small-group jazz that showcases Green's inventive original compositions and lithe, tradition-steeped jazz chops. ~ Matt Collar


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased