1 800 222 6872

Kenny Wheeler/London Vocal Project/Norma Winstone: Mirrors

Track List

>Humpty Dumpty
>Broken Heart, The
>Lover Mourns, The
>Black March
>Through the Looking Glass
>Hat, The
>Bereaved Swan, The
>Deathly Child, The
>My Soul

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

The Guardian (UK)
Big-choir renditions of texts as sharply personal and precise as lyric poems present some tricky challenges. Wheeler's rare imagination often makes this unusual venture gleam. The Bereaved Swan and The Deathly Child, are standouts addition to Wheeler's remarkable canon.

Album Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "With a markedly British flavour to the choral work, the music is full of humour, beauty and strangeness."

Album Notes

Personnel: Kenny Wheeler (flugelhorn); Norma Winstone (vocals); Katie Butler, Helen Burnett, Jenni Thompson, Hannah Berry, Joanna Richards, Jessica Barry, Fini Bearman (soprano); Adam Saunders, Brendan Dowse, Tommy Antonio, Sam Chaplin, Richard Lake (tenor); Pete Churchill, Ben Barritt, Andrew Woolf, Kwabena Adjepong, Pat Bamber (bass voice); Mark Lockheart (saxophone); Nikki Iles (piano); Steve Watts (double bass); James Maddren (drums).

Audio Mixer: August Wanngren.

Liner Note Author: Pete Churchill.

Recording information: Red Gables Studio, London (2012-06-04_2012-06-08&2012-).

Director: Pete Churchill.

Photographers: Tim Dickeson; Nick Smart; Darren Rumney.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product