1 800 222 6872

Max Bruch: Violin Concerto; Dvorak: Violin Concerto / Julia Fischer, violin; Zinman

Album Summary

>Dvorak, Antonin : Concerto for Violin in A minor, Op. 53
>Bruch, Max [Composer] : Concerto for Violin no 1 in G minor, Op. 26
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Joined by the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra and David Zinman, Fischer pairs the ever-popular Bruch concerto with Dvorak's undeservedly neglected but perennially fresh masterpiece - a rather more logical twinning than the ubiquitous Mendelssohn.

A former Artist of the Year at the 2007 Gramophone Awards, and 'Instrumentalist of the Year' at the 2009 MIDEM Classical Awards, Fischer signed to Decca Classics shortly afterwards and this is her fifth release for the label.

Reviewing Julia Fischer's performance of the Dvorak Concerto in London, The Guardian wrote, "Dvorak's Violin Concerto, a romantic showpiece too often passes over in favor of Bruch and Mendelssohn, has a piquant slow movement to compete with either. Fischer made sure we heard every note, handing us each bar with absolute technical assurance and in a lustrous, seamless tone."

The Telegraph, 15th March 2013
Zinman takes full advantage of Dvorßk's command and exploitation of orchestral texture and instrumental colour...Ubiquitous the [Bruch] concerto might be, but here Fischer asserts all the freshness and intensity that are hallmarks of her stylish playing...The finale's rhythmic drive and rapture cap a performance, and a disc, of striking presence and allure.

Gramophone Magazine, June 2013
A spirited, buoyant performance [of the Dvorak] that for much of the work's duration wears an irresistable smile.

Gramophone Magazine, June 2013
Francis and the London Symphony Orchestra provide consistently world-class, shapely orchestral frameworks and beautifully characterised first-desk solos throughout.

MusicWeb International, 21st May 2013
What a heart-melting performance of the first concerto this is...The LSO are pin-sharp in their responses...Lisitsa's is not a big, muscular sound but it is a lithe, well-toned one, and she lights up this most familiar concerto in ways I scarcely thought possible...Lisitsa really shines in the first and third concertos and the second is pretty impressive too.

The Arts Desk, 13th April 2013
It's a delight to report that much, though not all, of the music making captured here is terrific...Tempi are swift, with pianist and orchestra perfectly synchronised...Lisitsa refuses to wallow, accentuating Rachmaninov's jazzy boldness and dark humour...Both works [Nos. 1 & 4] need this sort of advocacy.

American Record Guide, July/August 2013
I admitted right at the start that Julia Fischer is the better violinist of these two. I think that applies to her whole technique. She sounds more sure of herself; she plays with confidence. For sheer violin playing you should hear her - and you probably will, because she plays all over the world and is starting to make recordings for this major label. I am always happy to hear her play in Cincinnati. That's refreshing.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Tonhalle, Zurich, Switzerland (04/19/2012/04/20/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Antonin Dvorák (1841 - 1904) : Concerto for Violin in A minor, Op. 53
  • Performer: Julia Fischer (Violin)
  • Conductor: David Zinman
  • Ensemble: Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra
  • Notes: Tonhalle, Zurich, Switzerland (04/19/2012/04/20/2012)
  • Running Time: 32 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto

>Bruch, Max [Composer] : Concerto for Violin no 1 in G minor, Op. 26
  • Performer: Julia Fischer (Violin)
  • Conductor: David Zinman
  • Notes: Tonhalle, Zurich, Switzerland (04/19/2012/04/20/2012)
  • Running Time: 23 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1864-1867