1 800 222 6872

Duck Baker: The Kid on the Mountain

Track List

>Medley: The Wicklow Hornpipe/Proudlock's Hornpipe
>Blind Mary
>Blarney Pilgrim, The
>Duke of Fife's Welcome to Deeside
>Sir Sidney Smith's March
>Bantry Bay
>Morgan Magan
>Kid on the Mountain
>Medley: Fanteladda/Boys of Ballisodare
>Rights of Man
>Elsie Marley
>Sheebag and Sheemore
>Lament for Limerick
>March of the King of Laoise, The
>Medley: The South Wind/The Blackbird
>No Love
>Mardi Gras Dance
>[CD-ROM Track]

Album Reviews:

Dirty Linen (12/99-1/00, p.65) - "...one of the first fingerstyle guitar albums to consist entirely of Irish traditional tunes, and Baker's background in American jazz and country...give the material a unique flavor..."

Album Notes

Solo performer: Duck Baker (guitar).

Recorded at Livingston Studio, London, England between 1977 and 1979. Includes liner notes by Duck Baker.

Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1999, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).

Liner Note Author: Duck Baker.

Recording information: Livingston Studio, London, England (1979).

Arranger: Duck Baker.

Although Kid on the Mountain's main focus is traditional Celtic material -- both Irish and Scottish, along with some Welsh songs -- this album is hardly oblivious to non-Celtic influences. Duck Baker is an acoustic guitarist who was born and raised in the U.S., and the influence of Anglo-American folk asserts itself on all of his interpretations of Celtic and British songs. Further, he plays unaccompanied acoustic guitar on traditional Celtic classics like "Morgan Magan," "Blind Mary," and "Lament for Limerick" -- not fiddle or harp, but acoustic guitar. Add all that up, and you've got an album that is hardly the work of a Celtic purist. But it's certainly the work of an artist who isn't afraid to take risks, and Baker's chance-taking spirit makes for an interesting, unorthodox project that can hardly be called generic. Recorded in 1979 and originally released as a vinyl LP in 1980, Kid on the Mountain was finally reissued on CD in 1999 with four bonus tracks from 1977-1978. ~ Alex Henderson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased