1 800 222 6872

Rich Thompson (Drums): Less Is More [Digipak]

Track List

>Lotus Blossom
>Hoot Gibson
>I Didn't Know What Time It Was
>Camping Out
>Less is More
>It's So Easy To Remember
>This is For Albert
>I've Never Been In Love Before
>Step Lightly

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Audiophile Audition
The selection of material for Less is More is also top notch with standards like "Lotus Blossom," "I Didn't Know What Time it Was," and Joe Henderson's "Step Lightly" sharing the session with Rich's title track and band member Campbell's "Hoot Gibson." The Rogers/Hart standard, "I Didn't Know What Time It Was" gets a Brazilian/Caribbean lilt by Thompson, and is a feature for Doug Stone's hot tenor sax. "Camping Out" is a mellow ballad that Stafford's muted trumpet makes special. The title track follows with mid-register tasty licks again from Mr. Stafford. Ornette Coleman's "Invisible" has a Monkish start/stop melody. Versace is highlighted here on piano with Campbell keeping steady time. "It's So Easy to Remember" lets Terrell show his lyrical chops, while Wayne Shorter's "This is for Albert" features Versace's Hammond swirling behind Stafford. Thompson is nicely upfront in the mix with cymbals snapping.

Album Notes

Personnel: Doug Stone (tenor saxophone); Gary Versace (piano, Hammond b-3 organ); Terell Stafford (trumpet, flugelhorn); Rich Thompson (drums).

Audio Mixer: Jeff Gilhart.

Recording information: Linden Oaks Studios, Rochester, NY (04/26/2012/04/27/2012).

Photographers: Joy Prescott; Slobo Mitic.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product