1 800 222 6872

Kyle Eastwood: View from Here [Digipak] *

Track List

>From Rio to Havana
>For M.E.
>View from Here, The
>Nuit au Sénégal, Une
>Way Home, The
>Promise, The
>Summer Gone
>Route de la Buissonne

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

American jazz bassist and composer Kyle Eastwood embraces a musical heritage that goes back to the soundtrack of his youth, when he not only listened to Duke Ellington, Count Basie and Miles Davis, but also went backstage at concerts with his famous father to meet all these great artists. Jazz is his passion, a passion that flourished in the company of such masters as Ray Brown, Lennie Niehaus and Buell Neidlinger. After producing a wonderful and critically-acclaimed series of albums for the Candid label, Eastwood makes his début on Jazz Village. For The View From Here, Eastwood and band traveled to France to record at La Buissonne, one of France's finest studios. Dynamic, bursting with powerful grooves and innovative melodies, The View From Here reveals Eastwood as one of the seminal musicians of today, displaying both his expertise as a bandleader and his brilliance and creativity as a composer.

Kyle Eastwood is back! His new release, The View From Here, is a refreshing perspective in new age jazz. This album is classy and free flowing. The band has a great chemistry and they play music that is defining new age jazz. Where there are many artists playing standards, it is refreshing to hear some new material that is witty and exciting and The View From Here fits that bill. This album and the musicians in it don't force a thing; it takes flight and doesn't stutter for a second.

Collins and Blevins are particularly effective in tandem. Whether playing a melody line in unison and then trading solos on the title track, or interweaving lines at the climax of Collins' stunning Mistral, they help the quintet conjure up the sound and spirit of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers. The end result is Eastwood's finest album to date, one which has a timeless quality.

Album Notes

Personnel: Kyle Eastwood (double bass, electric bass); Graeme Blevins (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Quentin Collins (trumpet, flugelhorn); Andrew McCormack (piano, electric piano); Martyn Kaine (drums).

Audio Mixer: Gérard De Haro.

Recording information: Studio La Buissonne, Pernes-Les-Fontaines (09/2012).

Photographer: Jean-Baptiste Millot.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product