1 800 222 6872

Bent Sorensen (b. 1955): La Notte - music for piano, violin & orchestra / Rolf Hind, piano; David Alberman, violin

Album Summary

>Sorensen, Bent : Sehnsuchte (7), for violin & piano
>Sorensen, Bent : The Masque of the Red Death, for piano
>Sorensen, Bent : Concerto for Piano "La Notte"
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Composed by Bent Sorensen (b. 1955), the three works with the piano in focus, released here for the first time on CD, have been recorded by the English pianist Rolf Hind in collaboration with his regular duo partner, the violinist David Alberman, and accompanied by the BBC Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Michael Schonwandt.

American Record Guide, September/October 2013
Bent Sorensen's work has roots in Danish folk music. They personify two lovers, one chasing the other until their roles reverse. Sorensen's style is provocative and engaging, and none of the pieces drag on too long. This record offers a nice glimpse into the work of a talented composer with a honed style and aesthetic vision.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Sorensen, Bent : Sehnsüchte (7), for violin & piano
  • Performers: David Alberman (Violin); Rolf Hind (Piano)
  • Conductor: Michael Schonwandt
  • Ensemble: BBC Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 5 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1999

>Sorensen, Bent : The Masque of the Red Death, for piano
  • Performer: Rolf Hind (Piano)
  • Running Time: 10 min. 12 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1989-1990

>Sorensen, Bent : Concerto for Piano "La Notte"
  • Performer: Rolf Hind (Piano)
  • Conductor: Michael Schoenwandt
  • Running Time: 13 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1996-1998
  • Studio/Live: Live