1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Symphony no 8 / Andrew Litton, Dallas Symphony

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 8 in C minor, Op. 65
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Andrew Litton's magnificent Shostakovich Eighth is easily the most convincing of non-Russian performances...the Dallas strings possess a quite breathtaking feeling for line, and the sorrowful cor anglais solois exquisitely phrased by David Matthews...Because Litton doesn't overplay the noisy war music, his overview has a logic and wholeness thatfew others can match...an outstanding release." -Williams, Classic CD


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 8 in C minor, Op. 65
  • Performers: Christopher Adkins (Cello); David Matthews (Violin); Wilfred Roberts (Bassoon)
  • Conductor: Andrew Litton
  • Ensemble: Dallas Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: McDermott Hall, Meyerson Center, Dallas, TX (01/02/1996/01/03/1996)
  • Running Time: 58 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1943