1 800 222 6872

Darcy James Argue: Brooklyn Babylon [Digipak]

Track List

>Neighborhood, The
>Interlude #1: Infuse
>An Invitation
>Interlude #2: Enjoin
>Tallest Tower In the World, The
>Interlude #3: Enthrall
>Construction + Destruction
>Interlude #4: Bewail
>Interlude #5: Unmoored
>Missing Parts
>Interlude #6: Arise
>Grand Opening
>Interlude #7: Aloft
>Coney Island

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Brooklyn Babylon is the highly-anticipated second release from acclaimed, Grammy-nominated Darcy James Argue and his steampunk big band Secret Society. The album collects the music from Argue's multimedia project of the same name; a collaboration with visual artist Danijel Zezelj."... A new work of originality, power, and beauty that left an audience slack-jawed... [I]t is destined to be considered a classic of the evolving genre of multimedia performance. -- NPR, Studio 360

We define musicians by the instruments they play. Darcy James Argue is one of those rare, magical artists whose instrument is the large ensemble. With Brooklyn Babylon, Argue's latest recording with the 18-piece Secret Society, he answers the question of what's next in jazz. First, there's ambition. Writing, rehearsing and recording for this group is a massive undertaking handled with grace. Second, there's vision.

Album Notes

Personnel: Sebastian Noelle (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Erica Vonkleist (flute, alto flute, piccolo, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, electronics); Rob Wilkerson (flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Gordon Webster (melodica, piano, electric piano); John Ellis (clarinet, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Josh Sinton (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Sam Sadigursky (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Ingrid Jensen (trumpet, flugelhorn, electronics); Nadje Noordhuis, Matt Holman, Tom Goehring, Seneca Black (trumpet, flugelhorn); Mike Fahie (trombone, euphonium); James Hirschfeld (trombone, tuba); Ryan Keberle (trombone); Jennifer Wharton (contrabass trombone, tuba); Matt Clohesy (electric bass); Jon Wikan (drum set, shaker, surdo, tambourine, tapan, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Brian Montgomery.

Recording information: Avatar Studios, Studio C (06/19/2012-06/21/2012); Metaphonic (06/19/2012-06/21/2012); Avatar Studios, Studio C (11/08/2012); Metaphonic (11/08/2012).

Animation: Danijel Zezelj.

Illustrator: Danijel Zezelj.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased