1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 / Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Jansons

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 10 in E minor, Op. 93
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Following the award-winning RCO Live release of Shostakovich's seventh symphony, Jansons's takes on the composer's tenth adds another benchmark performance to the orchestra's discography. The Symphony No.10, written in 1953 was a milestone work. After his music had been publicly denounced for being too abstract in 1948, Shostakovich had finally plucked up the courage to write another symphony. Ever since Kirill Kondrashin and Bernard Haitink first led performances of Shostakovich's symphonies in the late 1970s, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra has astonished listeners with their expertise in this repertoire. With the tenure of Mariss Jansons, a degree of authenticity is added; like Kondrashin before him, Jansons has experienced himself what it is like to work under Soviet conditions.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Concertgebouw Amsterdam (2009-01-29&2009-02-01&2009-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 10 in E minor, Op. 93
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Notes: Concertgebouw Amsterdam (2009-01-29&2009-02-01&2009-)
  • Running Time: 52 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1953
  • Studio/Live: Live