1 800 222 6872

Schonberg: Pélleas et Melisande; Berg: 3 Pieces for Orchestra, Op. 6 / Dortmund PO

Album Summary

>Berg, Alban : Pieces (3) for orchestra, Op. 6
>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, Op. 5
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The great Richard Strauss is said to have exclaimed to the young Arnold Schönberg, "That's something for you!" Maurice Maeterlinck's drama Pelléas et Mélisande does indeed hold in store a vast world for an aspiring composer to explore.

The orchestral part is sumptuously and highly colorfully instrumented and structured contrapuntally down to the smallest detail. As a result, Schoenberg's Pelleas und Melisande captures even the remotest allusions and references of its literary source.

Ten years later Arnold Schönberg, by then a highly regarded composer, served as a source of inspiration when he required his student Alban Berg finally to compose a large-format work. The resultant Three Orchestral Pieces.

Under its principal conductor Jac van Steen the Dortmund Philharmonic long ago secured its place in the first ranks of German orchestras. Its intensive occupation with Richard Wagner's oeuvre was excellent preparation for this highly welcome new recording.

Everything has been produced on MDG in the finest 2+2+2 recording technique enabling listeners to experience the superb acoustics of Dortmund's Konzerthaus just as if there.

Gramophone Magazine, Awards Issue 2013
These two scores by master and pupil make an absorbing programme...Dabringhaus und Grimm's finely balanced recording captures a wealth of textural subtleties while not for a moment damping down the music's ferocity or skating over its moments of mysterious calm.

MusicWeb International, 30th July 2013
This is a distinguished and valuable issue. Van Steen has the measure of this demanding music, and draws magnificent playing from his orchestra.

American Record Guide, November/December 2013
This excellent performance is clear and precise, and the sound quality is very good, allowing me to hear many details I'd not noticed before. The climax in III is worth the wait.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Konzerthaus Dortmund (2009-10-05_2009-10-07&2013-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Berg, Alban : Pieces (3) for orchestra, Op. 6
  • Conductor: Jac Steen
  • Ensemble: Dortmund Philarmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Konzerthaus Dortmund (10/05/2009-10/07/2009)
  • Running Time: 20 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1913-1929

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, Op. 5
  • Conductor: Jac Steen
  • Notes: Konzerthaus Dortmund (01/21/2013-01/23/2013)
  • Running Time: 40 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1902-1903