1 800 222 6872

Weill: Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra, Op. 12; Stravinsky: Histoire du soldat; Milhaud: Suite Op. 157b / Gabriele Pieranunzi, violin

Album Summary

>Weill, Kurt : Concerto for Violin & wind orchestra, Op. 12
>Stravinsky, Igor : L'histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale), suite transcribed for violin, clarinet & piano
>Milhaud, Darius : Suite for violin, clarinet & piano, Op. 157b
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The CD presents for the first time ever, two recordings that took place at different times, on the stage of the oldest opera theatre in Europe. Sir Jeffrey Tate's conducts the Concerto for violin & wind orchestra by Kurt Weill and the inspired violin soloist Gabriele Pieranunzi; the other recording presents another big protagonist of the music scene, Enrico Pieranunzi, who plays with clarinetist Alessandro Carbonare.

American Record Guide, July/August 2014
This is a recording of pieces written in the 1920s with similar musical styles. The Weill was written in 1924 following his studies with Busoni. It is a very modernistic work written for violinist Joseph Szigeti as a showpiece, and it certainly requires virtuoso playing. The Stravinsky suite is a pared-down version for clarinet, violin, and piano consisting of three pieces. Stravinsky's 1920s style is very evident, the music is more familiar, and it is much easier to listen to than the Weill. The Milhaud consists of four short movements in the composer's jazzy 1920s style. I enjoyed this work; Milhaud's construction of each piece has a recognizable beginning, middle, and end and follows some musical pattern. Again, the playing by the trio is excellent, as is the sound.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: The San Carlo Theatre, Naples (10/21/2006/05/07/2012).


A Modernist Mash-up
KURT WEILL; Concerto for violin & wind orchestra Op. 12 CONCERTO

Kurt Weill’s Concerto for violin and wind orchestra has an oddly familiar quality that makes his later success on Broadway and in Hollywood all the more understandable. Despite its sometimes quirky instrumentation, shifting polyrhythms, 12 tone-ish harmonies and careful avoidance of any central melodic themes, the effect achieved here might be called populist modernism; it sounds as though one were listening to stitched together bits of incidental/background music from dimly remembered late night movies.

An altogether different approach can be heard on both Stravinsky’s “Histoire du Soldat Suite” and Milhaud’s “Suite Op. 157b”, each a trio written for violin, clarinet and piano.
The limited instrumentation and more melodically oriented nature of both pieces make the unique harmonic choices made by each composer all the more surprising and, often, challenging.

Recorded “live” at The San Carlo theatre in Naples, this collection of modernist compositions will appeal mainly to aficionados of 20th century music, but (even among the conservative classical music audience) those listeners who are somewhat curious and/or more open minded will find much here to enjoy.

Recommended 8 out of 10 Oscar O. Veterano

Submitted on 06/25/13 by Oscar O. Veterano 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Weill, Kurt : Concerto for Violin & wind orchestra, Op. 12
  • Performer: Gabriele Pieranunzi (Violin)
  • Conductor: Jeffrey Tate
  • Ensemble: San Carlo Theater Orchestra (Naples)
  • Running Time: 22 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 04/1924-05/1924

>Stravinsky, Igor : L'histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale), suite transcribed for violin, clarinet & piano
  • Performers: Enrico Pieranunzi (Piano); Alessandro Carbonare (Clarinet); Gabriele Pieranunzi (Violin)
  • Running Time: 6 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1918-1919

>Milhaud, Darius : Suite for violin, clarinet & piano, Op. 157b
  • Performers: Enrico Pieranunzi (Piano); Gabriele Pieranunzi (Violin); Alessandro Carbonare (Clarinet)
  • Running Time: 10 min. 43 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1936