1 800 222 6872

Cyril Scott: Piano Concerto; Cello Concerto; Pelleas and Melisanda, overture / Raphael Wallfisch, cello; Peter Donohoe, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Cyril Scott's early works are preserved at the University of Melbourne, part of the collection assembled by Scott's friend Percy Grainger. From that source Martin Yates has rescued three gorgeous romantic scores: the overture Pelleas and Melisanda of 1900, perhaps written in the shadow of Tchaikovsky, the lovely Cello Concerto, Op.19 written in 1902 with its glorious D major melody, and the unfinished three-movement Piano Concerto in D, also from 1900. This is lovely music and all are worthwhile scores, but the crown of this collection is Scott's early Piano Concerto, which conductor Martin Yates has salvaged from a chaotic manuscript and for which he has provided a completion to the third movement. Played in his grandest romantic style by pianist Peter Donohoe, what is revealed is a striking romantic concerto on a big scale, and with a strong personal voice. This was a remarkable achievement for a twenty-year-old composer at the beginning of a new century. Furthermore, some of the stylistic elements that make the later First Concerto so distinctive are explored here, especially in the first two movements. World premiere recordings.

BBC Music Magazine, August 2013
The indefatigible Martin Yates has rescued and edited substantial early works by Cyril Scott, including a previously unknown Piano Concerto and Cello Concerto: Donohoe and Wallfisch show they contain music of surprising merit.

Gramophone Magazine, September 2013
This is an ecstatic outpouring of unknown music...Donohoe's stunning performance makes the best possible case for this to become a repertoire piece...Wallfisch revels in its expansive melodic style and delivers another eloquent performance.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased