1 800 222 6872

Frédéric d'Erlanger: Concerto Symphonique; Andante Symphonique; Prelude Romantique / Guy Johnston, cello; Victor Sangiorgio, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Frédéric d' Erlanger's romantic Piano Concerto, Concerto Symphonique, dates from 1921. Brilliantly played by Victor Sangiorgio - all flashing pianism and sumptuous orchestration - it will appeal to lovers of the romantic concerto. It is coupled with two delectable shorter works for cello and orchestra: the Ballade (1926) and the Andante Symphonique (1903). Beautifully projected by cellist Guy Johnston, one immediately wonders why we had not heard them before. Similarly romantic is d' Erlanger's comparatively small output of orchestral music, which is well represented here by Sursum Corda! (1919) and the Prélude Romantique (1934). This is a gorgeous survey of a deserving romantic composer.

Gramophone Magazine, August 2013
d'Erlanger emerges as an extremely accomplished, agreeably undemanding composer whose orchestral pieces hover somewhere between high-class Ketelbey and low-grade Elgar. The two cello pieces (Guy Johnston the eloquent soloist) are well worth reviving).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased