1 800 222 6872

Rossini: Petite Messe Solennelle / Kirchheimer Vokal Consort, Tonu Kaljuste

Audio Samples

Album Summary

>Rossini, Gioachino : Petite messe solennelle, for soloists, 2 pianos, harmonium & choir
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Next to Stabat Mater, the Petite Messe solennelle is Rossini's second extensive sacred composition and without a doubt a highlight of his late works. On this recording with Tonu Kaljuste and the Kirchheimer Vokal-Consort, one can hear the original version of the mass, in which the orchestra comprises a piano and a harmonium.

American Record Guide, November/December 2013
By the end of the 1820s Rossini had written about 40 operas and by many accounts was the most famous composer in the world. The Kirchheimer Consort consists of eight singers, who share the solos and then join together for the choruses. They tend to sound better in ensembles.

Gramophone Magazine, Awards Issue 2013
Kaljuste's forward-pressing tempi provide an element of urgency that acts both viscerally and spiritually. The Rossinian sense of joy is palpable yet the performance also etches in that undertow of anguish...The mezzo Ulrike Andersen is superb in the concluding 'Agnus Dei'.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Noblessner Hall, Tallinn, Estland (07/28/2012-07/30/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Rossini, Gioachino : Petite messe solennelle, for soloists, 2 pianos, harmonium & choir
  • Performers: Andrea Brown (Soprano); Simon Bucher (Piano); Michael Feyfar (Tenor); Andreas Grasle (Harmonium); Jonathan Paz Zaens; Georg Poplutz (Tenor); Dominik Wörner (Bass Baritone); Sarah Wegener (Voice)
  • Conductor: Tönu Kaljuste
  • Ensemble: Kirchheimer Vokal Consort
  • Notes: Noblessner Hall, Tallinn, Estland (07/28/2012-07/30/2012)
  • Running Time: 62 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1863