1 800 222 6872

Harlap: L'Oiseau de la Guerre; Symphony No. 2; Zehavi: Concerto for Viola and Orchestra / Rivka Golani, viola; Sivan Rotem, soprano

Album Summary

>Harlap, Aharon : Symphony no 2 ("L'oiseau de la guerre")
>Zehavi, Oded : Concerto for Viola
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Born in Canada in 1941, Aharon Harlap immigrated to Israel in 1964. He studied at the Royal College of Music in London and at the Rubin Academy in Tel Aviv. His music has been performed and recorded in Israel as well as in Europe, Canada and the U.S. Oded Zehavi, born in 1961, belongs among the leading young Israeli composers. He studied at the University of Pennsylvania and SUNY-Stony Brook. He has been resident composer of the Haifa Symphony Orchestra and is now composer-in-residence with the Israel Chamber Orchestra.

American Record Guide, March/April 2014
Aharon Harlap (b 1941) is a Canadian composer who moved to Israel in 1964 and now is music director of the Rubin Academy Chamber Choir in Jerusalem and of the Tel Aviv Philharmonic Choir. His compositional style is basically romantic. The symphony relates to the Gulf War of 1991 and was directly inspired by Hans Hogendoorn's picture, "The Bird of War". It is a moving and beautiful work with a finale where a singer performs passages from Genesis and Isaiah, translated in the notes. The Viola Concerto is just as powerful. Golani plays with her usual expertise and fine tone, and the orchestra sounds excellent - as does the recording.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Haifa, Israel (04/1994/11/1994).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Harlap, Aharon : Symphony no 2 ("L'oiseau de la guerre")
  • Performer: Sivan Rotem
  • Conductor: Stanley Sperber
  • Ensemble: Haifa Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 31 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1992

>Zehavi, Oded : Concerto for Viola
  • Performer: Rivka Golani (Viola)
  • Conductor: Stanley Sperber
  • Running Time: 19 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1994