1 800 222 6872

Othmar Schoeck: Notturno for Baritone and String Quartet, Op. 47; Franz Schreker: Der Wind / Stephan Genz, baritone

Album Summary

>Schoeck, Othmar : Notturno, movements (5) for voice & string quartet, Op. 47
>Schreker, Franz : Der Wind, for violin, clarinet, horn, cello & piano
Performers Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Othmar Schoeck's Notturno, over forty minutes in length, is the featured work on this new recording by the Leipzig String Quartet and the baritone Stefan Genz. It is absolutely overwhelming how the musicians are able to discover so many multicolored and nuanced facets in a work initially creating the impression of great difficulty. Franz Schreker's rarely heard ballet pantomime Der Wind (The Wind) functions as a contrast.

Schoeck employed texts by Nikolaus Lenau capturing motifs from romanticism's dark side with consummate artistry and in a formal language verging on classicism. Fear and mourning play a role here, and farewell and loneliness are recurring themes.

Musical breezes soon ensue: for Franz Schreker's ballet pantomime Der Wind, a work of impressionistic inspiration commissioned by the phenomenal dance icon Grete Wiesenthal, the strings of the Leipzig String Quartet join forces with the winds of the Gewandhaus Orchestra and Olga Golej on the piano.

American Record Guide, January/February 2014
The music, an expansive sequence of songs and instrumental interludes, is challenging and engaging. Schoeck studied with Reger for a year in 1907 and you can hear that postromantic sound in this music; he was also influenced by Schoenberg and liked Berg's music, and you can hear that Second Viennese School influence as well. Notturno has been recorded at least seven times, twice by Fischer-Dieskau (first in 1967 and again in 1991 for his final singing on disc). MDG includes Der Wind, an impressionist 11- minute instrumental work by Schoeck's contemporary, Franz Schreker. Including instead some additional vocal works of Schoeck would have been a good decision. The performance of Der Wind is fine; the performance of Notturno is excellent. Both Genz and the Leipzig Quartet bring bravado to the energetic passages and tenderness to the introspective points.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (01/25/2013-01/28/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schoeck, Othmar : Notturno, movements (5) for voice & string quartet, Op. 47
  • Performer: Stephan Genz (Baritone)
  • Ensemble: Leipzig String Quartet
  • Notes: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (01/25/2013-01/27/2013)
  • Running Time: 39 min. 5 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1931

>Schreker, Franz : Der Wind, for violin, clarinet, horn, cello & piano
  • Performers: Stefan Arzberger (Violin); Olga Gollej (Piano); Matthias Moosdorf (Cello); Clemens Röger (Horn); Marco Thomas (Clarinet)
  • Running Time: 10 min. 46 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music