1 800 222 6872

Elgar: Symphony No. 2; Wagner: Tannhauser Overture; Venusberg Music / Sir Adrian Boult, BBC SO

Album Summary

>Elgar, Edward : Symphony no 2 in E flat major, Op. 63
>Wagner, Richard : Tannhäuser
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Boult was very closely associated with Elgar's music throughout his career and recorded the Second Symphony five times. This live Proms performance recorded in stereo from 1977 'shows Boult in his late 80s working with the passion and energy of a much younger man' (Martin Cotton). His relatively fast tempi are closer to his first recording made in 1944 with the BBCSO. The Overture and Venusberg music from Wagner's Tannhauser are a new addition to the Boult discography and come from a live studio performance in stereo from the Maida Vale Studios in 1968. These are world premier recordings

Gramophone Magazine, December 2013
What treasure-trove it comprises...Not only do the BBC SO play with heartfelt commitment...but the 88-year-old Boult directs with unerring grip and thrusting vigour...So where's the rub? Well, the boomy, cavernous sound leaves a lot to be desired...if you can contend with the problematic sound, there's heaps to admire here on purely artistic grounds.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Elgar, Edward : Symphony no 2 in E flat major, Op. 63
  • Conductor: Adrian Boult
  • Ensemble: BBC Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 50 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1909-1911

>Wagner, Richard : Tannhäuser :: Overture & Venusberg Music
  • Conductor: Adrian Boult
  • Running Time: 23 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1843-1865