1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D, Op. 125 "Choral" / Tilla Briem, Elisabeth Hongen, Peter Anders, Rudolf Watzke (live, 1942)

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This recording received great acclaim when it was first released in 1994. Pulse said, 'This is a ninth to end ninths - you'll never get over this ferocity.' Absolute Sound said, 'This wartime live Berlin performance is special, crackling with the tension of the times and the conductor's defiant rage.'

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: 03/22/1942-03/24/1942.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler
  • Ensemble: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: 03/22/1942-03/24/1942
  • Running Time: 73 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824