1 800 222 6872

Verdi: Otello / Aleksandrs Antonenko, Krassimira Stoyanova. Muti, Chicago SO

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Otello
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Coinciding with the 200th anniversary of Giuseppe Verdi's birthday, CSO Resound releases its second recording with Maestro Riccardo Muti featuring Verdi's second-to-last opera, Otello. Recorded live in concert at Symphony Center in 2011, this album will stand for years to come as a unique benchmark in Verdi performance and interpretation by one of today's finest conductors. Maestro Muti and the CSO's first recording together was a lauded album of Verdi's Messa da Requiem, which won two Grammy Awards.

American Record Guide, March/April 2014
My favorite Otellos have stronger casts: Tebaldi and Del Monaco with Karajan; Jones and Mc Cracken with Barbirolli; Rysanek, Vickers, and Gobbi with Serafin (RCA); Scotto, Domingo, and Milnes with Levine (RCA); Domingo again with Chung, and even Margaret Price and Carlo Cossutta with Solti (Decca). If you can bear the primitive sound, Toscanini (RCA, 1947) may still be best of all. His recording is thrilling and satisfying.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center (2011-04-08&2011-04-09&2011-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Otello
  • Performers: Paolo Battaglia (Bass); Juan Gatell; Michael Spyres
  • Conductor: Riccardo Muti
  • Ensemble: Chicago Symphony Chorus
  • Notes: Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center (2011-04-08&2011-04-09&2011-)
  • Running Time: 125 min. 17 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1887