1 800 222 6872

Korngold: String Sextet; Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht / Raphael Ensemble

Album Summary

>Korngold, Erich Wolfgang : Sextet for strings in D, Op. 10
>Schoenberg, Arnold : Verklarte Nacht for String Sextet, Op. 4
Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The two works on this disc disappeared from concert programs in Germany and Austria after Hitler came to power. Korngold and Schoenberg were both victimized for being 'non-Aryan' and their works were banned. Verklärte Nacht quickly reestablished itself, but the Korngold had to wait for its reappraisal until it was discovered in 1987 by The Raphael Ensemble, who gave its first public performance in the United Kingdom at The Purcell Room in London that year. On this mid-priced reissue in Hyperion's Helios series, two of the finest examples of the string sextet repertoire have been re-united. They can now be enjoyed for what they truly represent - the very summit of late Austrian romanticism from Imperial Vienna, just before it finally disappeared forever.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: 04/12/1990-04/14/1990.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Korngold, Erich Wolfgang : Sextet for strings in D, Op. 10
  • Ensemble: Raphael Ensemble
  • Notes: 04/12/1990-04/14/1990
  • Running Time: 34 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Chamber Music

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Verklärte Nacht for String Sextet, Op. 4
  • Notes: 04/12/1990-04/14/1990
  • Running Time: 2 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1899