1 800 222 6872

Alfredo Casella: Triple Concerto; Giorgio Federico Ghedini: Concerto dell'albatro / Emanuela Piemonti, piano; Paolo Ghidoni, violin; Pietro Bosna, cello

Album Summary

>Casella, Alfredo : Concerto for piano, violin, cello & orchestra, Op 56
>Ghedini, Giorgio Federico : Concerto dell'Albatro for violin, cello, piano, narrator & chamber orchestra
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Both Alfredo Casella and Giorgio Federico Ghedini are featured in ongoing Naxos series of orchestral works, but this is the first release to couple the two of them. The pieces have much in common - not least, both are concertos using the rare combination of piano trio and orchestra, pioneered by Beethoven - but they are also beautifully contrasted. Casella wrote his Triple Concerto for his own Trio Italiano, who performed it five hundred times on three continents in less than a decade. Ghedini's Concerto dell'albatro adds the voice of a narrator to the piano trio and orchestra, evoking, in words from Herman Melville's sea story Moby-Dick, a remarkable encounter with an Antarctic albatross.

The Guardian, 21st November 2013
A pair of radically different mid-century triple concertos...I Pomeriggi Musicali's fine live performances are scrupulously conducted by Damian Iorio... Violinist Paolo Ghidoni and cellist Pietro Bosna adopt a lyrical approach, in contrast to the more overtly virtuosic playing from pianist Emanuela Piemonti.

MusicWeb International, 9th January 2014
Ghedini's colours are so tastefully blended and applied that I found myself listening for a second time, and a third...Casella fans will want this concerto; the Ghedini is a real bonus, though.

American Record Guide, March/April 2014
Alfredo Casella (1883-1947) and Giorgio Federico Ghedini (1892-1965) were important Italian composers of the first half of the 20th Century, and these major works of theirs still make a strong impression. The Ghedini is for the same forces plus a narrator who quotes from Melville's Moby Dick in Italian, telling the story of an albatross who visited the ship. The story is told in a philosophical fashion that is quite fascinating. The present recordings are from performances in 2007. The sound is quite clearly balanced. These are also very fine performances. The music of both works is outstanding.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Teatro Dal Verme, Milan.


Somewhat disappointing
Rather than beginning with the performances and works on this disc, I have to state that whatever qualities to be found here are completely subverted by the recording. Both works are recorded live, and although there are no audience noise distractions, the sound is recessive – to the point where the brass and timpani seem to be in another room. The trio is spotlighted rather too forward, but this is nothing compared to the speaker in the Ghedini piece. The narrator is truly “in your face;” leaning back at one point threatens a reverberant cascade.

That said, the Triple Concerto is conducted with panache, but at times conductor Iorio needs to dial back the forward thrust. This is especially true in the beautiful Adagio, in which the reflection presented by Casella is sometimes interrupted by a vigorous outburst; when the movement is taken at the same pace throughout, the chimerical change in mood is not properly conveyed. Pianist Piemonti does sometimes spill notes during her runs. For a superb recording of the Triple Concerto, I highly recommend the Capriccio conducted by Michael Sanderling; it is an SACD hybrid and sounds amazing – the soloists are also first-rate.

It is unfortunate that the Concerto dell’albatro is hurt by the inferior recording. It is a haunting piece that uses a passage from Melville’s Moby Dick. The grayness and the despair are wonderfully captured by Ghedini. Had iorio recorded this work in the studio, this disc may have been a winner. I do not know any of the alternative recordings of this work, but I’ve heard that the Richard Kapp is not convincing.

Submitted on 11/23/13 by Andy F. 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Casella, Alfredo : Concerto for piano, violin, cello & orchestra, Op 56
  • Performers: Pietro Bosna (Cello); Paolo Ghidoni (Violin); Emanuela Piemonti (Piano)
  • Conductor: Damian Iorio
  • Ensemble: Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali
  • Notes: Teatro Dal Verme, Milan (12/13/2007-12/15/2007)
  • Running Time: 29 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1933

>Ghedini, Giorgio Federico : Concerto dell'Albatro for violin, cello, piano, narrator & chamber orchestra
  • Performers: Paolo Ghidoni (Violin); Pietro Bosna (Cello); Emanuela Piemonti (Piano)
  • Conductor: Damian Iorio
  • Notes: Teatro Dal Verme, Milan (01/11/2007-01/13/2007)
  • Running Time: 28 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto