1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1; Rihm: Gesungene Zeit / Jaap van Zweden, violin

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Concerto for Violin no 1 in A minor, Op. 77
>Rihm, Wolfgang : Gesungene Zeit, for violin & orchestra
Performer Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Composed in 1947-48 but unperformed until 1955, Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto is one of the great concertos of the twentieth century. The wide emotional range of its four-movement structure encompasses an opening of brooding, elegiac melancholy, a manic scherzo, a harrowing and deeply felt passacaglia, and a brilliant, concluding burlesque. Wolfgang Rihm has been described as 'one of the most approachable, engaging and profound composers writing music today' (The Guardian). The solo violin in Gesungene Zeit (Time Chant) plays one long fine-spun melody, the work creating a maximum of expression with a minimum of means.

American Record Guide, May/June 2014
The Shostakovich grew on me with each hearing. The Passacaglia is heartrending. The fight for the climax is convincing. Van Zweden's tone in the Scherzo is playful. I knew the Rihm from Anne-Sophie Mutter's performance. I knew the Rihm from Anne-Sophie Mutter's performance (paired with her gorgeous Berg Concerto on Deutsche Grammophon); I love the Berg dearly. This recording is commendable.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Concerto for Violin no 1 in A minor, Op. 77
  • Performer: Jaap Zweden (Violin)
  • Conductor: Edo De Waart
  • Ensemble: Netherland Radio Philharmonic
  • Notes: VARA Studio 1 & Muziekcentrum Vredenburg, Utrecht, Holland (04/16/1994-04/19/1994)
  • Running Time: 38 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1947-1948

>Rihm, Wolfgang : Gesungene Zeit, for violin & orchestra
  • Performer: Jaap Zweden (Violin)
  • Conductor: Zoltán Peskó
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Running Time: 26 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1991-1992
  • Studio/Live: Live