1 800 222 6872

Brahms: Quintet Op. 115; Bridge: Lament; Mann: Dreamtime / David Aaron Carpenter, viola

Album Summary

>Brahms, Johannes : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in B minor, Op.115
>Bridge, Frank [Composer] : Lament, for 2 violas in C minor, H. 101/2
>Mann, Robert : Dreamtime, for viola
Performer Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Ondine proudly presents a release featuring violist David Aaron Carpenter, 'the hottest violist of the 21st century' according to Norman Lebrecht, and 'stunningly talented' by The New Yorker, and member of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Dreamtime features the titular solo viola work by Robert Mann (1920). Frank Bridge (1879-1941) is one of the most outstanding composers for viola. The longest work on the disc is Brahms's Clarinet Quintet Op. 114 in the version for viola and string quartet.

Gramophone Magazine, January 2014
The autumnal mood transfers effectively to an all-string ensemble; the playing is both fluent and sensitively shaped...and Carpenter's blend of mellowness and deftness is colourfully applied to Robert Mann's occasionally Bartokian Dreamtime.

MusicWeb International, 22nd January 2014
[Carpenter] phrases with great skill, and freights his playing with intelligence and sensitivity.

American Record Guide, March/April 2014
He performs the viola version of Brahms's Clarinet Quintet with members of the Berlin Philharmonic. It's a gorgeous rendition, mostly gentle and graceful, with moments of tasteful agitation. Frank Bridge's Lament is written for two violas. It begins with a beautifully crafted unbroken line lasting nearly a minute before the second viola enters. Dreamtime by Robert Mann (b. 1920) is a solo piece in two short movements. The first could be described as pointillistic, with mostly short phrases and extremely wide intervallic leaps. Carpenter delivers it with a clear sense of line. II, a fierce Tarantella, is played with muscle and a trace of humor.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Brahms, Johannes : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in B minor, Op.115
  • Performer: David Carpenter (Viola)
  • Ensemble: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra members
  • Running Time: 39 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1891
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Bridge, Frank [Composer] : Lament, for 2 violas in C minor, H. 101/2
  • Performer: David Carpenter (Viola)
  • Running Time: 8 min. 30 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1912
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Mann, Robert : Dreamtime, for viola
  • Performer: David Carpenter (Viola)
  • Running Time: 5 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern