1 800 222 6872

Ge Gan-Ru (b.1954): Fairy Lady Meng Jiang; Lovers Besieged / Sharon Bezaly, flute

Album Summary

>Gan-Ru, Ge : Fairy Lady Meng Jiang, for flute & orchestra
>Gan-Ru, Ge : Lovers Besieged, suite for orchestra
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

  • Chinese composer Ge Gan-ru, whilst studying music at the Shanghai Conservatory, earned the designation of 'China's first avant-garde composer'.
  • Flautist Sharon Bezaly, heard here, is the Concerto for Flute's dedicatee.
  • Enrique Diemecke leads the Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y Leon.

BBC Music Magazine, February 2014
Ge Gan-ru incorporates elements of traditional music and richly-scored late-Romanticism. Bezaly admirably meets the extraordinary demands of Meng Jiang.

MusicWeb International, 21st February 2014
For all of the gently artistry on show in the four-movement work that is Fairy Lady Meng Jiang the music is predominantly a vortex of the distraught and the anxious...This will broaden your horizons and introduce you to Ge, a composer...who is at ease working with the avant-garde and with the sentimentally eloquent.

American Record Guide, May/June 2014
Fairy Lady Meng (2009) is a flute concerto based on a famous Chinese tale. A beautiful girl is born out of a gourd that sits between the houses of two neighbors. Lovers Besieged (2009), an orchestral suite in three movements, is based on the famous story "Farewell My Concubine". All told, this comes across as really amateur stuff. There are better ways to explore the Western-Eastern classical music connection. This is a fine orchestra, well recorded. Ms Bezaly is excellent as always.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Valladolid, Spain (03/2009).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Gan-Ru, Ge : Fairy Lady Meng Jiang, for flute & orchestra
  • Performer: Sharon Bezaly (Flute)
  • Conductor: Enrique Diemecke
  • Ensemble: Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y Leon
  • Running Time: 39 min. 27 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2008

>Gan-Ru, Ge : Lovers Besieged, suite for orchestra
  • Conductor: Enrique Diemecke
  • Running Time: 23 min. 51 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2009