1 800 222 6872

Basso Bailando - works by Piazzolla, Rota, de Falla / Rick Stotijn, double bass; Malin Broman, violin; Lavinia Meijer, harp

Album Summary

>Piazzolla, Astor : Las estaciones porteñas (4)
>Rota, Nino : Divertimento concertante, for double bass & orchestra
>Falla, Manuel de : Siete canciones populares espanola (7 Popular Spanish Songs), for voice & piano, G. 40
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Basso Bailando - mixed Spanish and Italian for 'dancing bass'- is the perfect description for the pieces of this collection featuring Dutch Music Prize winner Rick Stotijn, whose début recording of music by Bottesini was met with the highest praise. Stotijn is joined by a cadre of great musicians including violinist Malin Broman, harpist Lavinia Meijer and members of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. The repertoire includes arrangements of music by Piazzolla and Falla and an original work by Nino Rota - all 'border-crossers' between the worlds of popular and classical music.

The Observer, 16th February 2014
The Dutch bass player Rick Stotijn brings his evident virtuosity at the bottom of the register to bear on three diverse pieces.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Piazzolla, Astor : Las estaciones porteñas (4)
  • Performers: Malin Broman (Violin); Rick Stotijn (Double Bass)
  • Conductor: Simon Crawford-Phillips
  • Ensemble: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 27 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1965-1970
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Rota, Nino : Divertimento concertante, for double bass & orchestra
  • Performer: Rick Stotijn (Double Bass)
  • Conductor: Mats Rondin
  • Running Time: 25 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Falla, Manuel de : Siete canciones populares española (7 Popular Spanish Songs), for voice & piano, G. 40
  • Performers: Lavinia Meijer (Harp); Rick Stotijn (Double Bass)
  • Running Time: 12 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Vocal
  • Written: 1914