1 800 222 6872

Xavier Montsalvatge: Simfonia de Requiem; Manfred; Bric a brac / Marta Matheu, soprano

Album Summary

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Manfred, ballet
>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Bric a brac, for orchestra
>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Simfonia de Requiem, for orchestra & optional soprano
Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

  • Xavier Montsalvage was, and remains, one of the more important Spanish (Catalan) composers of the 20th century.
  • Víctor Pablo Perez leads the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra in three works, including the best known of the three, the Sinfonia di Requiem.
  • Booklet notes in Spanish and English

The Guardian, 13th February 2014
The performances are admirably clear-textured: the Barcelona Symphony, as one might expect, have this music in their systems.

MusicWeb International, 17th March 2014
Montsalvage is an intriguing composer and on this evidence is a master of mood conjured concisely.

American Record Guide, July/August 2014
His idiosyncrasies shine brightly in this recording. Manfred is a 1945 ballet score named after Byron's dramatic poem. Perez and his Barcelonians play this music with romantic sweep and heartfelt lyricism. The composer's personality comes through clearly in his Sinfonia de Requiem, written 40 years after Manfred. Montsalvatge saw this music as more spiritual than religious. Montsalvatge wrote his final orchestral work, Bric a Brac, at age 81. The four movements are alternately serene and playful, and the Barcelona Symphony plays it with sensitivity and joy.

Expedition Audio Recommended
Performed by the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Victor Pablo Pérez, this release is Naxos' first of Montsalvatge's orchestral oeuvre and it provides an excellent overview with compositions coming from three distinct periods of his career. Concluding the album is arguably his most important work, the twenty-minute Simfonía de Rèquiem (1985) with soprano soloist Marta Matheu's lovely singing gracing the final three minutes of the work. read more

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: L'Auditori, Pau Casals Hall, Barcelona, Spain (06/07/2012-07/12/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Manfred, ballet
  • Conductor: Victor Pérez
  • Ensemble: Barcelonoa Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: L'Auditori, Pau Casals Hall, Barcelona, Spain (06/07/2012-07/12/2012)
  • Running Time: 24 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1945

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Bric à brac, for orchestra
  • Conductor: Victor Pérez
  • Notes: L'Auditori, Pau Casals Hall, Barcelona, Spain (06/07/2012-07/12/2012)
  • Running Time: 15 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1993

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : Simfonía de Rèquiem, for orchestra & optional soprano
  • Conductor: Victor Pérez
  • Notes: L'Auditori, Pau Casals Hall, Barcelona, Spain (06/07/2012-07/12/2012)
  • Running Time: 19 min. 19 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1985