1 800 222 6872

Henryk Górecki: From Church Songs, for unaccompanied mxed choir / The Cracow Singers

Audio Samples

  1. Pieśni kościelne: No. 10, O Matko miłościwa (O Merciful Mother) $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Pieśni kościelne: No. 11, Pozdrawiajmy wychwalajmy (Let Us Praise, Let Us Hail) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Pieśni kościelne: No. 13, Tysiąc kroć bądź pozdrowiona (Be Praised a Thousand Times) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Pieśni kościelne: No. 12, Święty, Święty, Święty (Holy, Holy, Holy) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Pieśni kościelne: No. 8, Jezu Chryste, Panie miły (Jesus Christ, Good Lord) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Piesni koscielne: No. 7, Bądź pozdrowiony (Praise Be to Thee) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Pieśni kościelne: No. 19, Ojcze Boże wszechmogący (God the Father Almighty) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Pieśni kościelne: No. 20, Krzyżu Chrystusa (O Cross of Christ) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Pieśni kościelne: No. 4, Ludu, mój ludu! (People, my People) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Pieśni kościelne: No. 17, Śliczny Jezu, miły Panie (Beautiful Jesus, Good Lord) $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Pieśni kościelne: No. 18, Twoja cześć, chwała (Your Glory and Praise) $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Pieśni kościelne: No. 16, Wstał Pan Chrystus z martwych ninie (Lord Jesus is Now Risen From the Dead) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Pieśni kościelne: No. 3, Szczęśliwy, kto sobie Patrona Józefa ma (Fortunate is He, Who Has St. Joseph as his Protector) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Pieśni kościelne: No. 14, Krzyknijmy wszyscy (Let Us Shout Together) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Pieśni kościelne: No. 15, Witaj, Jutrzenko (Hail, Morning Star) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Pieśni kościelne: No. 21, Ciebie wzywamy, Ciebie błagamy (We Call on You, We Beseech You) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Pieśni kościelne: No. 6, Zawitaj Pani świata (Hail, Lady of the World) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Pieśni kościelne: No. 1, Zdrowaś bądź Maryja (Hail Mary) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Pieśni kościelne: No. 2, Idźmy, tulmy się jak dziatki (Let Us Go, Hugging, like Children) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Pieśni kościelne: No. 5, Witaj Pani, Matko Matki Jezusa Pana (Welcome Lady, Mother of the Mother of Lord Jesus) $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Gorecki, Henryk M. : Piesni koscielne (Church Songs) (21), for chorus
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

  • World premiere recordings of twenty Church Songs for a cappella Choir, adapted by Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki
  • Written mostly in May and June 1986
  • Most of the original old melodies (some dating back to the 14th century) were taken from 'Church Songbooks' by Rev. Jan Siedlecki
  • 'Church Songs' are well in agreement with the general outline of the composer's oeuvre
  • The Cracow Singers in Tribute to H.M. Gorecki - Wlodzimierz Siedlik - artistic director and conductor

American Record Guide, May/June 2014
The notes are in English. Solemn and the songs sound like the perfect accompaniment for a reverent approach to the communion rail or to the altar to venerate a statue of the Holy Madonna. The singing is as reverently introspective as the music. It's just beautiful.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Church of the Mother of God from Fatima in Cracow (05/20/2013-05/23/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Henryk Mikolaj Górecki (Composer) (1933 - 2010) : Piesni koscielne (Church Songs) (21), for chorus
  • Conductor: Wlodzimierz Siedlik
  • Ensemble: Cracow Singers
  • Notes: Church of the Mother of God from Fatima in Cracow (05/20/2013-05/23/2013)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 31 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1986