1 800 222 6872

Chopin: Piano Concertos nos 1 & 2 / Ingrid Filter, piano; Jun Markl

Album Summary

>Chopin, Frédéric : Concerto for Piano no 1 in E minor, B 53/Op. 11
>Chopin, Frédéric : Concerto for Piano no 2 in F minor, B 43/Op. 21
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Award-winning pianist Ingrid Fliter makes her Linn debut with a distinctive performance of Chopin's notoriously difficult piano concertos, featuring the Scottish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jun Markl. Since winning the silver medal at the 2000 Frederic Chopin Competition in Warsaw, Ingrid has built a reputation as a first-rate Chopin interpreter. Fliter has previously recorded two all-Chopin discs; her interpretation of the complete Chopin Waltzes received several five star reviews and was named as the Telegraph's 'CD of the Week' and Classic FM Magazine's 'Editors Choice'. Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1 is a thoughtfully scored composition that allows the piano to shine. The Scottish Chamber Orchestra's beautifully delicate playing perfectly highlights Fliter's authoritative, yet expressive performance. Fliter carefully and skillfully showcases the range of tones in Chopin's second piano concerto, from the dramatic introductory chords at the opening of the first movement to the sweetly lyrical second movement where the Scottish Chamber Orchestra's woodwinds vie for centre stage. Fliter is a breathtaking performer whose performance of Chopin's commanding chords and lightening speed runs are effortless.

The Guardian, 28th February 2014
There's nothing small-scale about Fliter's performances. This is very much Chopin playing in the great tradition: rich-toned, generous though never profligate with its rubato, and invested with a vast range of keyboard colour. It's all put together meticulously too.

Gramophone Magazine, March 2014
True, she sails perilously close to over-sentimentalising the opening Romanza...but Fliter plays with grace and heartfelt sincerity - abetted by some lovely duetting with the SCO's bassoonist - that...I was quickly won over...Fliter, by whatever magical means, touches the heart.

MusicWeb International, 13th March 2014
With so many first-rate recorded performances of varying vintages and in different price-ranges did we need another recording? Emphatically yes, if it's as good as this new Linn CD...There's plenty of bravura and power in the outer movements without any sense of showing off and there's poetry in the slow movements.

The Telegraph, 21st March 2014
A chamber ensemble of the calibre and responsiveness of the SCO is the ideal medium in which to appreciate the fact that there is a good deal more subtlety of colour and texture to Chopin's scoring than is generally acknowledged...Then there is Fliter's playing, and what a pure joy it is. Power, delicacy, refinement and passion are all there in these two concertos.

Sunday Times, 23rd March 2014
Fliter's beautifully considered accounts of the two Chopin concertos...reveal a sensibility of rare emotional refinement and high Romantic instincts...She has plenty of delicacy for the bel canto flourishes of the opening movements, and muscle for the bravura of the folk-dance finales. Solid accompaniments, too.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK (06/07/2013-06/09/2013).


Amazing interpretation of Chopin’s Piano Concertos!!!
This recording, which is a total and complete audio delight, consists of Chopin’s 1st and 2nd Piano Concertos. Right from the get-go it is apparent that the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, under the baton of Jun Markl, is ready to bring depth and feeling to the music about to be played – and boy, do they deliver, which makes for a wonderful partnership with Ms. Fliter, as her playing is exceptional. Her touch is light and strong, feeling and pensive, manic and directed, and all of the other incredible human things that make Chopin’s music so very special.

The first movement of Piano Concerto No. 1 immediately grabs the listener, and it is clear that amazing things are coming, and they do. Particularly noteworthy is the 2nd movement which is gentile and purposeful and sophisticatedly sensitive all at the same time. It was frighteningly easy for this listener to forget how difficult this music is to play and just lose oneself in the emotional experience. Unbelievable how wonderful this is. The 3rd movement starts with strong aggressive strings before giving way to Ms. Fliter’s expressive piano. The Orchestra and Ms. Fliter compliment and reinforce each other in a way seldom experienced, and it is a real treat to hear it in a recording of this caliber.

Piano Concerto No. 2 is no less captivating, starting with gentile enticing strings and quickly moving to more directed and emotional music that sets the stage for the somewhat isolated piano character to come in which not only echos the string theme presented, but also provides emotional context for the introspective and majestic journey that is underway. Ms. Fliter outdoes herself in the 2nd movement both in the sensitivity of her touch and the gentility with which she takes hold of the listener’s heart and carries it through a range of introspective emotional states. And then the strings come in urgently and the pianistic organism responds promptly before returning to gentile, stirring, expressionism. The give and take here is breathtaking, and this movement is worth the price of the CD alone – it’s soooooooo good. The 3rd movement closes the work in a directed and gently strident fashion that is filled with virtuosic passages that are no less emotionally capturing despite their difficulty (which seems effortless for Ms. Fliter), and ends full of good spirit and joy. Again, it is unbelievable how good this is.

The liner notes are well written and informative, but even if they were sparse this recording would be worth having in any event. However, the entire work, from recording quality to CD to liner notes is delightful from start to finish. Would that all recordings and performances were of this quality and as captivating. This is amazing music, performed in a sensitive, thoughtful, and provocative way, and I very highly recommend it!

Submitted on 06/30/14 by KlingonOpera 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Frédéric Chopin (1810 - 1849) : Concerto for Piano no 1 in E minor, B 53/Op. 11
  • Performer: Ingrid Fliter (Piano)
  • Conductor: Märkl, Jun
  • Ensemble: Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • Notes: Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK (06/07/2013-06/09/2013)
  • Running Time: 39 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1830

>Frédéric Chopin (1810 - 1849) : Concerto for Piano no 2 in F minor, B 43/Op. 21
  • Performer: Ingrid Fliter (Piano)
  • Conductor: Märkl, Jun
  • Notes: Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK (06/07/2013-06/09/2013)
  • Running Time: 33 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1830