1 800 222 6872

Heinrich Schütz: Johannes-Passion; Der 116. Psalm "Das ist mir lieb"; Siegfried Reda: Choralkonzert "O Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid" / Thomas Rothert, organ

Album Summary

>Schütz, Heinrich : Das ist mir lieb (Psalm 116) for 2 sopranos, alto, tenor & bass, SWV 51
>Reda, Siegfried : O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid, for organ
>Schütz, Heinrich : Johannes-Passion, SWV 481
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The choir of the Hochschule fur Evangelische Kirchenmusik Bayreuth under the direction of Karl Rathgeber arrestingly present this plain yet dramatic setting of the Passion narrative. Accompanied by the Concertino Luneburg, the ensemble has also recorded Schutz's setting of Psalm 116. In between these two works is Siegfried Reda's 1953 chorale concerto 'O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid'. The piece is performed on this recording by Thomas Rothert at the new Goll-Organ at the Bayreuth Hochschule.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Groáen Orgelsaal der Hochschule für Evangelische Kirche (05/1999).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Heinrich Schütz (Composer) (1585 - 1672) : Das ist mir lieb (Psalm 116) for 2 sopranos, alto, tenor & bass, SWV 51
  • Conductor: Karl Rathgeber
  • Ensemble: Concertino Lüneburg
  • Running Time: 13 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque

>Reda, Siegfried : O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid, for organ
  • Performer: Thomas Rothert (Organ)
  • Running Time: 15 min. 54 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1938

>Heinrich Schütz (Composer) (1585 - 1672) : Johannes-Passion, SWV 481
  • Performers: Bernard Schneider (Voice); Martin Hummel (Baritone); Susanne Oehm-Henniger; Helmut Hansel; Gunter Leykam; Andreas Schmidt (Voice)
  • Conductor: Karl Rathgeber
  • Running Time: 1 min. 49 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: 1665