1 800 222 6872

George Walker: Violin Sonata no 2; Beethoven: Piano Concerto no 5 / Greg Walker, violin; George Walker, piano

Album Summary

>Walker, George : Sonata for violin & piano no 2
>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Concerto for Piano no 5 "Emperor"
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Albany Records continues its series of recordings devoted to the artistry of esteemed composer and pianist George Walker. This recording includes Walker performing Beethoven's Fifth Piano Concerto in a thrilling live performance from 1967. Coupled with the Beethoven is Walker's Violin Sonata performed by the composer and his son, Gregory for this recording. Gregory Walker, a professor at the University of Colorado is artistic director of the Colorado NeXt Music Fest and a champion of contemporary music.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Walker, George : Sonata for violin & piano no 2
  • Performers: George Walker (Piano); Gregory Walker (Violin)
  • Conductor: Edwin London
  • Ensemble: Smith-Amherst Orchestra
  • Running Time: 5 min. 49 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1979

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Concerto for Piano no 5 "Emperor"
  • Performer: George Walker (Piano)
  • Conductor: Edwin London
  • Running Time: 37 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1809