1 800 222 6872

Pancrace Royer (1705-1755): Pyrrhus, opera / Guillemette Laurens, Emmanuelle De Negri, Alain Buet, Jeffrey Thompson

Album Summary

>Royer, Joseph-Nicolas-Pan : Pyrrhus, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

World premiere recording! With a first-rate cast, this new production from Alpha brings to light a major work of the French operatic heritage. Pyrrhus by Pancrace Royer (also noted for his very fine - and virtuosic - harpsichord music) was first performed early in the reign of Louis XV. Features the twenty-one tragedies lyriques on the subject of the Trojan War that were performed at the Academie Royale de Musique (the Paris Opera) between 1687 and 1730.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Salle des Croisades du Château de Versailles (09/14/2012/09/16/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Royer, Joseph-Nicolas-Pan : Pyrrhus, opera
  • Performers: Olivier Fichet (Voice); Christophe Gautier (Voice); Virgile Ancely (Bass Baritone); Solange Añorga (Soprano); Alain Buet (Bass); Laurent Collobert (Bass); Brian Cummings (Voice); Emmanuelle de Negri (Voice); Sophie Decaudaveine (Soprano); Nicole Dubrovitch (Voice); Guillemette Laurens (Mezzo Soprano); Edwige Parat (Voice); Jean-Yves Ravoux (Tenor); Bruno Renhold (Countertenor); Jeffrey Thompson (Voice); Paul Willenbrock (Bass)
  • Conductor: Michael Greenberg
  • Ensemble: Les Enfants d'Apollon
  • Notes: Salle des Croisades du Château de Versailles (09/14/2012/09/16/2012)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Opera/Operetta