1 800 222 6872

Louis Lortie Plays Chopin, Vol. 3 - Nocturnes, Impromptus, Sonata in B minor

Notes & Reviews:

Louis Lortie here gives us the third volume in his ongoing Chopin project. Throughout the series his guiding principle has been to emulate the recital practice of the great romantic pianists, who might play a short improvisation before a major work in order to set the audience in the right frame of mind. On this disc Lortie plays the four Impromptus and the Piano Sonata in B minor, introducing each with a Chopin Nocturne (typically of an improvisatory character) in the same or a related key.

International Record Review, May 2014
Textures are chaste, lean, and translucent. Pedalling is employed as a colour device, not as an aid to legato. Harmonic structure is unambiguous, delineating the overall architecture with unparalled clarity...Rhetoric throughout is personal, human, real, and the Sonata's 25-plus minutes will have passed almost before you can believe they have begun.

The Guardian, 25th April 2014
Lortie's Chopin playing has a wonderful, penetrating directness about it; there's not a trace of dreamy indulgence in any of the nocturnes, though all their decorative tracery shines out with a sharp-cut brilliance, and the impromptus dance and divert without a trace of self-consciousness.

BBC Music Magazine, July 2014
The first prerequisite of great Chopin playing is arguably beauty of tone, as well as refinement and variety...Lortie is a model Chopinist: eloquent but never sentimental, elegant without ever sounding effete, dramatic but never exaggerated, harmonically luminous, structurally immaculate - and surprising.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased