1 800 222 6872

Richard Wagner: Tannhäuser / Birgit Nilsson, Leonie Rysanek, Rudolf Lustig, Marcel Cordes, Gottlob Frick. Karl Bohm (rec. 1956)

Audio Samples

  1. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Overture
  2. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Naht euch dem Strande (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Geliebter, sag? Wo weilt dein Sinn? (Venus) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Geliebter, komm! Sieh dort die Grotte (Venus) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Zieh hin, Wahnbetorter, zieh hin! (Venus) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Frau Holda kam aus dem Berg hervor (Hirt) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Wer ist der dort in brunstigem Gebete? (Hermann) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Als du in kühnem Sange uns bestrittest (Wolfram) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act I: Zu ihr! Zu ih! O führet mich zu ihr (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Orchestereinleitung $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Dich, teure Halle (Elisabeth) $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Dort ist sie; nahe dich ihr ungestort (Wolfram) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Verzeiht, wenn ich nicht weiß, was ich beginne (Elisabeth) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Den Gott der Liebe sollst du preisen (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Dich treff ich hier, in dieser Halle (Hermann) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Freudig begrüßen wir die edle Halle (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Gar viel und schon (Hermann) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Blick ich umher in diesem edlen Kreise (Wolfram) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Auch ich darf mich so glücklich nennen (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: O Walther, der du also sangest (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Dir, Göttin der Liebe soll mein Lied ertönen (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Was hör dich? Wie, Elisabeth! (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act II: Ein furchtbares Verbrechen ward begangen (Hermann) $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: Orchestereinleitung $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: Wie Todesahnung, Dämmerung deckt die Lande (Wolfram) $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: O du, mein holder Abendstern (Wolfram) $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: Ich horte Harfenschlag (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: Inbrunst im Herzen, wie kein Buber noch (Tannhäuser) $0.99 on iTunes
  29. Wagner — Tannhäuser, Act III: Willkommen, ungetreuer Mann! (Venus) $0.99 on iTunes
  30. Wagner — Der fliegende Holländer (The Flying Dutchman), Act III: Johohohe, Johohohe! Hoe! Hoe! $0.99 on iTunes
  31. Wagner — Rienzi, Act I: Erstehe, hohe Roma, neu! $0.99 on iTunes
  32. Wagner — Rienzi, Act IV: Kennt ihr mich noch! $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Tannhäuser
>Wagner, Richard : The Flying Dutchman
>Wagner, Richard : Rienzi
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

A performance and recording that based on cast alone nearly sells itself - legendary sopranos Leonie Rysanek and Birgit Nilsson together in one performance under legendary conductor Karl Böhm. - The great German bass Gottlob Frick (described as 'the blackest bass in Germany' by Wilhelm Furtwängler) only adds to this sets luster and historicity. - Tannhäuser is considered by some to be Wagner's most controversial opera due to its bringing "the sacred and the profane into disturbing proximity".

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Teatro di San Carlo, Napoli (03/17/1956).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Tannhäuser
  • Conductor: Karl Böhm
  • Ensemble: Teatro di San Carlo Orchestra
  • Running Time: 101 min. 58 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1843-1865

>Wagner, Richard : The Flying Dutchman :: Johohoe! Johohohoe!
  • Performer: Leonie Rysanek (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Rudolf Michl
  • Notes: Composition written: 1841.
  • Running Time: 7 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1841

>Wagner, Richard : Rienzi :: Erstehe, hohe Roma, neu!
  • Performer: Rudolf Lustig (Tenor)
  • Running Time: 4 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1838-1840

>Wagner, Richard : Rienzi :: Kennt ihr mich noch?
  • Performer: Rudolf Lustig (Tenor)
  • Running Time: 4 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1838-1840