1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: Symphony no. 6; Shostakovich: Symphony no. 6 / Jansons, Bavarian Radio SO

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 6 in B minor, Op. 54
>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Together with the Bavarian Radio Symphony, Mariss Jansons presents the Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich Sixth Symphonies in recent live recordings. - These recordings follow his Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony (released on BR-KLASSIK). - Mariss Jansons formerly worked as assistant to legendary conductor Yevgeny Mravinsky, conductor of the first performance of Shostakovich's Sixth. Today, Mr. Jansons ranks as one of the foremost interpreters of Russian symphonic music.

American Record Guide, November/December 2014
The recorded sound is superb - about as good as you're going to get from a standard CD. I particularly listened for the final "dying heartbeat" thrums in the basses at the end of the Pathetique - a superb depth and fullness to the sound. The first time through it was a bit surprising to hear an audience applaud.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 6 in B minor, Op. 54
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: München, Herkulessaal der Residenz (03/18/2013-03/21/2013)
  • Running Time: 29 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1939
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Notes: München, Philharmonie im Gasteig (06/04/2013-06/07/2013)
  • Running Time: 45 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893