1 800 222 6872

Joseph Haydn: The Seasons, oratorio / Christina landshamer, Maximilian Schmitt, Florian Boesch. Philippe Herreweghe

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : The Seasons
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Inspired by Handel, Haydn felt the need to compose oratorios. Following "The Creation" came "The Seasons", the idea for which came to him from Baron van Swieten. Little convinced initially, Haydn eventually came around. The work that resulted is a vast Nature fresco that describes landscapes and the attendant feelings they arouse. This recording is a double-first for conductor Philippe Herreweghe, his first "Seasons" and the first in a Phi Haydn cycle, with "The Creation" to follow".

American Record Guide, November/December 2014
Herreweghe's performance is a fine one. All the soloists are very fine, intelligent musicians; and, consistent with the conductor's vision. The chorus of 38 musters enough enthusiasm to be convincing. The period orchestra, using fortepiano for recitatives, offers subtle, alert accompaniment for the vocalists. The orchestra sounds fine, particularly the extroverted horns in the hunting chorus. The summer thunderstorm (one of the few things that actually happens in this piece!) is well done. In short this is a lovely performance. Nonetheless, the spritely playing and good solo work make for enjoyable listening.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Congress & Messe Innsbruck, Saal Innsbruck (04/10/2013-04/13/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : The Seasons
  • Performers: Florian Boesch (Baritone); Christina Landshamer; Maximilian Schmitt
  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent
  • Notes: Congress & Messe Innsbruck, Saal Innsbruck (04/10/2013-04/13/2013)
  • Running Time: 114 min. 48 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1801