1 800 222 6872

British Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 3 - Moeran, Rubbra, Rawsthorne / Paul Watkins, cello; Huw Watkins, piano

Notes & Reviews:

The Watkins brothers have reached volume three in their survey of British works for cello and piano. They have already shown a true affinity for this repertoire, Gramophone remarking that '[they] have all this music in their very being.' Vol. 3 concentrates on three works written in a short period immediately after the Second World War, by three composers of very different orientation and personality.

BBC Music Magazine, July 2014
The most stylistically striking piece is Rubbra's Sonata of 1946...The Watkins brothers, true to form, pay close attention to its rhythmic life, though they also know how to soar into beauty...[they] interact in a manner perhaps only possible with artists who shared a childhood together, cornflakes and all.

Gramophone Magazine, August 2014
Another superb chamber partnership (this time from two brothers), instinctively collaborative in passages of both poignancy and urgency.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased