1 800 222 6872

Franck: Sonata for Violin & Piano (arr. for Piano trio); Chorales (3) for Organ (arr for piano solo) / Karl-Andreas Kolly, Simone Riniker Maier, David Riniker

Album Summary

>Franck, César : Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, M 8
>Franck, César : Chorales (3)
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

César Franck's Violin Sonata is the diamond solitaire of the violin literature. Incomparable lyrical wealth forms a bold contrast when it meets the wildest intensity. Here formulaic violin composition and empty virtuosity are nowhere to be found; the challenging violin part and the incredibly high velocity of the piano part mean that the musicians have to give their all. This work is also popular with cellists, and the outstanding qualities of both stringed instruments form a perfect union in David Riniker's brand-new version for piano trio.

Shortly prior to his death Franck kept a resolution that he had made many years before. His Trois Chorales creates the impression of a legacy in which he repeatedly refers to his great model Bach.

The phenomenal bass register of MDG's "Manfred Bürki" Steinway concert grand piano of 1901 offers a profound foundation, and Kolly's skillful hands even produce what is actually impossible - 32' sounds! This high-resolution SACD recording guaranteeing genuine three-dimensional listening pleasure in the home with MDG'S 2+2+2 sound is the perfect complement to this suggestion.

American Record Guide, November/December 2014
You've probably heard the Franck Violin Sonata many times, and not just on violin. I've heard the violin part played on cello, flute, and saxophone; and there are many other arrangements. The Three Chorales are organ works arranged for solo piano. I revisited the originals before listening to the arrangements, and when I heard them on piano, I experienced what I can only describe as relief. The performances are all excellent, as is the sound. Notes are in English, German, and French.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (09/30/2013-10/02/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>César Franck (1822 - 1890) : Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, M 8
  • Performers: Karl-Andreas Kolly (Piano); Simone Maier (Violin); David Riniker (Cello)
  • Notes: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (09/30/2013-10/02/2013)
  • Running Time: 28 min. 41 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1886

>César Franck (1822 - 1890) : Chorales (3)
  • Performer: Karl-Andreas Kolly (Piano)
  • Notes: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (09/30/2013-10/02/2013)
  • Running Time: 34 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1890