1 800 222 6872

Maleficent [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Album Summary

>Howard, James Newton : Maleficent, film score
>Fain, Sammy : Once Upon a Dream (for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty)
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >
Notes & Reviews:

The soundtrack to Maleficent, a reimagining of Disney's Sleeping Beauty from the villain's perspective, puts the focus on James Newton Howard's foreboding yet witty score. Stormy brass and percussion duke it out with sparkling strings and woodwinds on pieces that range from the tumultuous ("Maleficent Suite," "Battle of the Moors," "Path of Destruction") to the light-hearted ("Welcome to the Moors," "Aurora and the Fawn"). Lana Del Ray rounds out the album with an equally eerie and alluring version of "Once Upon a Dream," which serves as a reminder as to why she's become one of the most in-demand soundtrack contributors of the 2010s. ~ Heather Phares


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Howard, James Newton : Maleficent, film score
  • Performers: Roger Argente (Trombone); Corinne Bailey (Horn); Max Baillie (Viola); Chris Baron (Percussion); Mark Berrow (Violin); Richard Berry (Horn); Nigel Black (Horn); Rachel Bolt (Viola); Fiona Bonds (Viola); Natalia Bonner (Violin); Thomas Bowes (Violin); John Bradbury (Violin); Dudley Bright (Trombone); Ian Burdge (Cello); Martin Burgess (Violin); Paul Cassidy (Viola); Simon Chamberlain (Piano); Reiad Chibah (Viola); Paul Clarvis (Percussion); Philip Cobb (Trumpet); Nick Cooper (Cello); David Daniels (Cello); Laurence Davies (Horn); Peter Davies (Trombone); Caroline Dearnley (Cello); Phillip Eastop (Horn); Jonathan Evans-Jones (Violin); Clare Finnimore (Viola); David Fuest (Bassoon); David Fuest (Contrabassoon); Roger Garland (Violin); Timothy Gill (Cello); Katherine Gowers (Violin); David Hartley (Piano); Jacqueline Hartley (Violin); Roger Harvey (Trombone); Stephen Henderson (Percussion); Nick Hitchens (Tuba); Emma Hodgson (Trombone); Philippe Honore (Violin); Martin Humbey (Viola); Ian Humphries (Violin); Philippa Ibbotson (Violin); Garfield Jackson (Viola); Karen Jones (Flute); Helen Kamminga (Viola); Skaila Kanga (Harp); Helen Keen (Flute); Paul Kegg (Cello); Martin Kelly (Trombone); Gary Kettel (Percussion); Michael Kidd (Horn); Patrick Kiernan (Violin); Josephine Knight (Cello); Julia Knight (Viola); Joely Koos (Cello); Nicholas Korth (Horn); Boguslav Kostecki (Violin); Peter Lale (Viola); Julian Leaper (Violin); Gabrielle Lester (Violin); Tony Lewis (Cello); William Lockhart (Percussion); Martin Loveday (Cello); Alastair Mackie (Trumpet); Rita Manning (Violin); Jane Marshall (Oboe); Paul Mayes (Trumpet); Lorraine McAslan (Violin); Paul Milner (Trombone); Perry Montague-Mason (Violin); Roger Montgomery (Horn); Kate Moore (Trumpet); Steve Morris (Violin); Everton Nelson (Violin); Mark Nightingale (Trombone); Anna Noakes (Flute); Martin Owen (Horn); Andrew Parker (Viola); Camilla Pay (Harp); Tom Pigott-Smith (Violin); Anthony Pike (Bassoon); Anthony Pike (Contrabassoon); Robert Plane (Bassoon); Robert Plane (Clarinet); Robert Plane (Contrabassoon); Debbie Preece (Violin); David Pyatt (Horn); Maciej Rakowski (Violin); Jonathan Rees (Violin); Frank Ricotti (Percussion); Rachel Roberts (Viola); Nina Robertson (Flute); Frank Schaefer (Cello); Emlyn Singleton (Violin); Owen Slade (Tuba); Sonia Slany (Fiddle); Sonia Slany (Violin); Robert Smissen (Viola); Darren Smith (Trombone); Ralph Souza (Violin); Ed Tarrant (Trombone); David Theodore (Oboe); Cathy Thompson (Violin); Michael Thompson (Horn); John Thurgood (Horn); Christopher Tombling (Violin); Helen Tunstall (Harp); Edward Vanderspar (Viola); Sam Walton (Percussion); Leila Ward (Oboe); Vicci Wardman (Viola); Richard Watkins (Horn); Bruce White (Viola); Deborah Widdup (Violin); Paul Willey (Violin); Jonathan Williams (Cello); Andy Wood (Trombone); Tony Woolard (Cello); Chris Worsey (Cello); Steve Wright (Viola); Warren Zelinski (Violin)
  • Conductor: Pete Anthony
  • Running Time: 6 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Film Score
  • Written: 2014

>Fain, Sammy : Once Upon a Dream (for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty)
  • Performer: Lana Rey (Voice)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern