1 800 222 6872

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 9 / Danish National SO, Michael Schonwandt

Album Summary

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 9 in D major
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Gustav Mahler's Ninth Symphony is often viewed as a valedictory work, a final statement from the last symphonic master in the Austro-German musical tradition. Naturally, there is plenty of evidence to both confirm and complicate such a view, and a brief survey of that evidence allows the compelling story of Mahler's Ninth to begin to take shape. The Danish National Symphony Orchestra was founded as a radio orchestra in 1925 in connection with the launch of the Danish Broadcasting Corporation (DR), and consists of 99 musicians. The orchestra is based in the DR Concert Hall, one of Europe's most spectacular concert halls, which was inaugurated in 2009. The orchestra's strong, straightforward musical personality has its roots in its close links with Danish and other Nordic music.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Koncerthuset, DR Beyn, Copenhagen (01/05/2012/01/07/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 9 in D major
  • Conductor: Michael Schoenwandt
  • Ensemble: Danish National Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Koncerthuset, DR Beyn, Copenhagen (01/05/2012/01/07/2012)
  • Running Time: 80 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1908-1909
  • Studio/Live: Live