1 800 222 6872

Cello Sonatas: Enescu, Prokofiev, Shostakovich / Laura Buruiana (cello), Alexandra Silocea (piano)

Notes & Reviews:

Following two critically acclaimed solo recordings for AVIE, pianist Alexandra Silocea pairs with cellist Laura Buruiana for the Cello Sonatas by Russia's 20th-century compositional giants, Prokofiev and Shostakovich, alongside the much rarer Sonata Movement by compatriot Georges Enescu. Both Russians wrote only one Cello Sonata; Shostakovich when he was on the brink of censorship by the Communist authorities, and Prokofiev when he was in the midst of his.

International Piano
Alexandra Silocea ... reveals a rather special talent.

New York Times
[Buruiana] is a bona-fide virtuoso, drawing a wealth of color, drama, and flowing line from her instrument.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review