1 800 222 6872

Turina: Canto a Sevilla / Maria Espada, soprano; Martin Roscoe, piano; BBC Philharmonic

Conductor Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

This is the second release featuring works by Joaquín Turina in Juanjo Mena's ongoing series with the BBC Philharmonic, La Música de España. Soprano María Espada stars in Canto a Sevilla and Martin Roscoe is the soloist in Rapsodia sinfónica. La procesión del Rocío and Danzas gitanas complete a disc of vibrant works inspired by Turina's native Andalusia.

Gramophone Magazine, August 2014
The fact that Turina was a skilled orchestrator is manifest throughout this disc in performances of La procesion del rocio and the Danzas gitans that have a shifting, subtle spectrum of coour delineating the music's light and shade, its sunshine and louring clouds, its sensuality and sinew.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased