1 800 222 6872

Bruckner: Study Symphony in F Minor / Simone Young, Hamburg Philharmonic

Album Summary

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 00, in F minor ("Study Symphony"), WAB 99
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This "youthful" study symphony of Anton Bruckner's (he was nearly 40 at the time of completion) represents his earliest symphonic output and is not wholly representative of the future path of his subsequent symphonies. This Oehms Classics recording, undertaken by conductor Simone Young and her Hamburg Philharmonic, is yet one more addition to her growing and respected discography, which includes six Bruckner symphonies in their original versions.

American Record Guide, January/February 2015
The Hamburg Philharmonic plays very well. They did their jobs well enough to make a strong case for this symphony. The sound meets the fine standards of Oehms, and Lewin's notes are helpful.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Laeiszhalle Hamburg (02/22/2013-02/26/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 00, in F minor ("Study Symphony"), WAB 99
  • Conductor: Simone Young
  • Ensemble: Hamburg Philharmonic
  • Notes: Laeiszhalle Hamburg (02/22/2013-02/26/2013)
  • Running Time: 41 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: circa 1864
  • Studio/Live: Live