1 800 222 6872

Dvorák: Complete Symphonies & Concertos / Garrick Ohlsson, piano; Alisa Weilerstein, cello; Frank Peter Zimmermann, violiin

Notes & Reviews:

A new Dvorak symphony and concerto cycle from the multi-Gramophone-Award-winning conductor and the great Prague-based orchestra.

Marking a triumphant return to the orchestra where he trained, the world leading and multi-Gramophone Award-winning maestro Jiri Belohlavek records Decca's first Dvorak cycle since the 1960s.

Dvorak himself conducted the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra's first concert in 1896, and the shared Bohemian heritage of composer, conductor and orchestra lends a very special authenticity to these recordings.

Dvorak's three concertos (violin, cello and piano) feature alongside his nine great Symphonies, with Decca's leading cellist Alisa Weilerstein, Frank Peter Zimmermann (violin) and Garrick Ohlsson (piano).

Sunday Times, 17th August 2014
The early symphonies sound as if they are ingrained into the Czech musicians' DNA...The playing throughout has a transparency, with wonderfully woody woodwinds, and Belohlavek's affectionate accounts of the "pastoral" Fifth (F major) and the vigorous Sixth (D major) are highlights.

Classical Music
A convenient way to acquire this repertoire from performers who have it in their blood: juicily idiomatic wind playing, a string sound that sparkles like the Vltava itself.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased