1 800 222 6872

Concerto: Venice - The Golden Age. Concertos by Vivaldi, Marcello & Porta / Xenia Löffler, oboe; Georg Kallweit, violin

Notes & Reviews:

This disc is an invitation to explore one of the great attractions of Venice in the Baroque era, the famous ospedali. Among the residents of the Pietà was a girl named 'Pellegrina,' for whom Vivaldi wrote many of his oboe concertos. Accompanied by her colleagues of the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, oboist Xenia Löffler not only breathes new life into a selection of concertos by the 'Red Priest' - but also several by his emulators, among them a composer of today, no less fervent in his admiration: Uri Rom.

BBC Music Magazine, December 2014
Here, in all its radiant apparel, is the splendour of Venice's golden age...Loffler is a fine performer with a rounded, mellow tone and remarkable dexterity...a captivating musical portrait of La Serenissima, whose distinctive colours and rhythmic energy suffuse this disc.

Gramophone Magazine, October 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear the Akademie fur Alte Musik Berlin, whatever they play...the third 'theme' of the disc is undoubtedly the superb oboe-playing of Xenia Loffler, as smooth and swellingly expressive in slow movements as it is ripplingly agile in quicker ones. It is masterly playing and this disc is her triumph.

International Record Review, November 2014
The star turn here is Loffler, whose evenly spoken playing, communicative articulation and dextrous technique make her one of the most accomplished Baroque players around at present.

American Record Guide, January/February 2015
The first piece here is a new (2013) oboe concerto by Uri Rom (b 1969), commissioned by this ensemble and dedicated to oboist Xenia Loffler. It is an attractive pastiche of and fine tribute to the music and styles associated with what the whole program celebrates: the renowned and vibrant musical life of the Venetian orphanages. Oboe was one of the instruments played by the women at the Pieta orphanage, and it is possible that the instrumentalist known only as "La Pellegrina", who lived at the Pieta from the age of eight days until her death, was the first to play Vivaldi's oboe concertos.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased